Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Newbie with lift questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2010, 02:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L straight 6
Default Newbie with lift questions

Hi everyone, I've had my XJ for over a year now and its time to give it a little lift. I'm looking at lifting it only about 2" because its my daily driver and I'm on a college student's budget. I've never done this before, so I have some questions:

1) Are the poly spring spacers an efficient way to get 2" of lift?
2) whats better for the rear, add-a-leaf or shackles?
3) is raising it 2" going to be noticeable enough to matter?
4) is this going to ruin the ride?

thanks in advance!
Old 01-13-2010, 02:58 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1997
Engine: I6

i'd say shackles are better than addd a leafs, i got an add a leaf and it picked it up for a weak then started sagging again, so i put 2 inch shackles and their perfect. i have a 3 inch lift by the way, look at my pics to see what a 3 inch lift and 2 inch shackles in the back looks like. so 3 in in front and 5 inch in back + 31 inch BFG A/T Tires. it wont ruin the ride, all jeeps ride rough. With the spacers you may need to buy longer shocks and extend the brake lines, but im not for sure. someone will chime in on these questions and know more than me. i have the pro comp 3 inch springs in front and rough country leafs with 2 inch shackles. I think its when you get bigger springs instead of stock does the ride get a tad rougher. you will be able to tell it has some lift to it, 2 inch wont do a TON but you will be able to tell. what size tires are you running? what do you plan on running?
Old 01-13-2010, 04:27 PM

Thanks for the info. I'm running 235's now, and they're in good shape still. I plan on going with 30's for the next set most likely.

p.s.