Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

New member-Problem

Old 05-05-2012, 09:51 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default New member-Problem

First let me say I am new to the Jeep community and this forum. Glad to be here.

I bought my son a 94 Cherokee 4.0. Had to put sensors in transmission right from start

We havent had it 2 days and it seems that it takes SEVERAL cranks for it to start. From what I have read, could be fuel pump or orings in pump. Does this seem correct? It might be letting fuel drain back to tank when not running and not keeping it "primed" ???? If this is the case how hard is it to drop the tank and do this?

If this sounds like another problem, please tell me where to start.

Thanks and I appreciate the help

David
Old 05-05-2012, 11:12 AM
CF Veteran

Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts
Year: 90,84
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0,2.5

One thing to try. When the key is first turned on the pump will run for like 2 seconds. If you do that like, three times, then it starts right away, then your "poor mans prime" worked, and you are loosing fuel pressure while it's sitting. One deal I read said the pressure should not drop more than 20 lbs in 30 minutes. (sitting, off). The check valve in the fuel pump is a common culprit, although mine was more the leaking injectors.

One way I new to suspect injectors is that if I turned it off hot, then started it in 5 or ten minutes. (foot off the pedal), it would miss for a second cuz a cyl or two was flooded. Idk. Seemed that way. EDIT/ADDED That would be more pronounced after doing the prime business above^^.

94? I think MAYBE your pump is mounted on the front of the tank. (you can see a big ring way up on there). The newer I'm not familiar with, you need to pull the tank because it goes in the

top....so there's a start! And welcome!