Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

New Cherokee won't start :(

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2013, 07:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default New Cherokee won't start :(

Hi everyone, I'm new to the Cherokee and these forums so please excuse me for being a newb.

I bought my 1998 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 automatic a few days ago and it ran great. I'm really happy with it. I took it 4wheeling last night and it did great. I went to wash it today, started it up and moved it in the driveway and washed it. Then I went to start it and click. Nothing, doesn't try to turn over or anything.

I checked the started relay, all the fuses, wiggled the shifter back and forth and nothing. If I jump the terminals in the starter relay it will start, but when I swap the starter relay it makes no difference. I tried bypassing the nss in the connector with a paper clip and that didn't work.

Do you guys have any idea what it could be? I can still drive it but I have to do so by jumping the starter relay and it's annoying. Thanks a bunch
Old 02-19-2013, 07:27 PM
CF Veteran

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors

Possible ignition switch ?
Old 02-19-2013, 07:39 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1998
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by kryan
Hi everyone, I'm new to the Cherokee and these forums so please excuse me for being a newb.

I bought my 1998 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 automatic a few days ago and it ran great. I'm really happy with it. I took it 4wheeling last night and it did great. I went to wash it today, started it up and moved it in the driveway and washed it. Then I went to start it and click. Nothing, doesn't try to turn over or anything.