Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

new to the cherokee, have a few questions...

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2009, 09:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1988
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default new to the cherokee, have a few questions...

First of all, I am not a newbie. I know I should search and what not, but I thought I would ask a few quick questions...
Btw, I have an 88 Cherokee Laredo, 5speed, 4x4, Two door.

1) Whats a good online site to get aftermarket parts/upgrades? Like: now foglights, safari racks, fender flares, etc.
2) The stock alternator sucks! Is there any other alternator thatll bold up without serious modifications? I do want to keep my A/C too btw, and does anyone make a spash gaurd to protect it? If I do go off road, I dont want to worry about it, but at the same time, Im not going to be going through four feet of water.
3) My A/C system is charged and everything seems intact, but i doesnt blow cold. The pump engages and everything but no cold air, is there an easy fix to this?
4) Center console options, are there any interchangable ones that have a cup holder?
5) Drive seat lean, can I fix it without having to replace the whole frame?
6) Power window motors, theyre old and weak, its time for new ones right? If I role the passenger one down all the way, I have to take the door panel off to get it back up.

Thanks for all the help guys! Anything else I should check out or replace?

Last edited by kbernal1016; 07-18-2009 at 09:57 PM.
Old 07-19-2009, 12:18 AM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1995
Engine: 4.0
Default Drivers seat lean

My drivers seat had me leaning to the left when I bought my Jeep. Bought some fiber fill from Wal-Mart for 10 bucks and put it in the sagging side, just lift up the seat covers and stuff a piece in there, mine is like new now.