Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

New 1996 Xj owner 1st Jeep

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2012, 03:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default New 1996 Xj owner 1st Jeep

1996 Green 2-door XJ, 142,XXXmi, 4x4, new project car!!!

2nd Vehicle, Purchased for $100 got a great price and couldn't pass it up.

I'm a complete novice with the Xj but am eager to learn and appreciate any insight/ advice on my future plans. Here's the history so-far:

Daily driver, I prefer older cars and am definitely not a fan of the "new junk" out there. This is my second car and future project. Currently this is my new daily driver mostly 5-10mi trips mixed city/ highway. Longer 40-80mi on weekends. Having never driven a Jeep I felt a surprising amount of torque from the 4.0 I6 and man an Xj can be fun in the wet, really easy to slide the back around and hold out the drifts when the roads are greasy.

looking to fix up/ restore to *mint* condition/ mods will come later after all the mechanical bits are in perfect working order.

***********The Good:************************
-purchased as the 3rd owner/ clean Texas Title
-Texas car from '96, no rust.
-Low Mile for an Xj? I thought so at 142,000 when I purchased it.
-Never been wrecked, no previous body work

********The Bad:****************************
-So far I have invested $800 in new BFGoodrich A/T's
-Did the front breaks (new pads/rotors) myself $70
-Needed new Headliner $200
-Adjusted the rear drums but they'll need replacement soon
-Top surface clear coat burn
-New Catalytic Converter $$$ (under recall thank god)
-Cracked Original windshield will need replacement
-Misc. cosmetic issues to address in the future, seats, carpets, new door speakers etc...

*******What I've done:**************************