Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Need help, Jeep won't start

Old 05-21-2013, 08:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Exclamation Need help, Jeep won't start

Hey all,
Just got a 95 XJ a few weeks ago and she's been a fixer upper, but now she won't start.
Few things...the battery, alternator, coil springs, fuel pump and filter have all been checked and were tested good. Today I replaced the spark plug wires. It turns over but will NOT start. It's my only vehicle and I need it back up and running. So please HELP!
I'm new at this whole Jeep thing and not sure what to do.
95 XJ
105,000 miles
4.0L
Old 05-21-2013, 09:38 PM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts

Divide and conquer. What's missing, spark or fuel? Does the fuel pump spin up when you turn the key to ON?

Pull a sparkplug, put the wire back on, lay it on something metal to ground the shell. Crank the motor and look for spark.
Got any? Strong, blue color?

I assume it didn't start before you replaced the wires?

Last edited by Radi; 05-21-2013 at 09:40 PM.
Old 05-21-2013, 10:52 PM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Year: 1994 1993
Engine: 4.0

As mentioned first determine what's missing. Get a can of starting fluid and blast into the intake and see if that gets it to fire up. If it does you arent getting any fuel. If not then check for spark as mentioned. Last time my XJ wouldnt start as you describe my ignition relay was blown
Old 05-22-2013, 08:38 AM

Year: 1998
Default i too am having trouble getting my jeep to start.

I having the same problem. i'm not much of a mechanic, so i've done some research on the internet and talked to some friends.