Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Need help. Broken drive shaft bolt. How to extract?

Old 02-14-2019, 09:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default Need help. Broken drive shaft bolt. How to extract?

I have one of those extraction tools, to be used with a drill. I think I understand from the internets, the general way to do this. Any specific tips about these bolts? I don't know how deep to drill(pass through or only a few inches deep), what size bit to use so I don't damage the threads on the shaft, what size bolt to replace it with?

I'd like to go to the hardware store on the way home instead of ordering.

Any extra suggestions I didn't know to ask for are much appreciated. I've never done this before.
Old 02-14-2019, 10:17 AM
gat

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L L6 PowerTech (stock)

https://m.sears.com/craftsman-10-pc-damaged-bolt-nut-remover-set-low/p-00952166000P
I'd try to remove it from the head provided that there is still a head. Sears sells multiple sets like this and I suspect that they are rebranded SK. Is there an head on the bolt?
Is this bolt one of two bolts holding one of the two brackets around a universal joint?
If you have to go inside of the bolt, then I recommend drilling with left hand threads because sometimes just using those will be enough. When you buy an extraction set it usually comes with the correct drill bit size for each tool. It should always let you know what size bit. Some like flutes and some like square drives on these. You can search garagejournal.com to your hearts content to read opinions and decide for yourself.
If there is a nut on the other side of a bolt, then I recommend buying a nut splitter to solve the problem.
Old 02-14-2019, 12:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts