Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

my tec question..

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2010, 02:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 HO
Default my tec question..

Got my jeep back in March , a 96 xj 4.0 HO. and with work/school/and weather i havent had time to work on it besides some basic matainance. I finally got some extra time and money to try to fix my jeep... the problem is that reading posts with simmular problems it doesnt look good. Nobody has had the exact problem as me that i have read yet, but match up to about 75-90% of my problem. sorry about my lack of proper jargon, im just getting into all this stuff so if its not making any sence let me know

when i start my jeep i have to let it sit for about 5 min before i can try to drive it. it will sit and idle 99% of the time but it has a rough idle, once you hear it smooth out you can drive. The weird thing to me is that if you turn it off, even for 1 min and turn it back on you have to wait 5 min. Temp doesnt matter either warm or cold you still have to wait.

once you get it running it runs at about 85%. What i have noticed is that once you get it going i would hold a steady presure on pedle when the gear gets to the high end and gets ready to shift that is when it starts missing again. also if you try to just smash the throtle it does the same thing, it starts missing and backfireing. the engine will rev up like it was going into passing gear but there would be no extra power to the wheels. there are no noises coming from my transmition or any slipping that i can tell.