Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Mechanic screwed up or just bad luck?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2010, 03:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Angry Mechanic screwed up or just bad luck?

I admit i'm no mechanic but I'm not totally without knowledge. Anyway, I ended up sending my XJ off to the shop.

Went in for all 4 shocks, coil springs, muffler and tailpipe, power steering and water pumps, sway bar end links and a new drivers side seat.

First thing I noticed when I got it back was alot of "pounding" and "scraping" noises, death wobble to beat hell at 40-45 mph, belt noise and a TON on power steering fluid leaking.

After crawling underneath I'm pretty sure they totally ****ed up the exhaust install. First off, the muffler sits at an angle ... front of it is about 2 inches lower than it is in the back. Can't say i've ever had a vehicle with a properly installed muffler that sat at that kind of an angle. Just looks weird to me.

The tailpipe has a hanger, welded bar type (not sure what there actually called) that's put on in a way that its pressed hard against my rear shock. Doesn't seem normal to me. Also, the tailpipe goes straight back to the axle - loops up over and then down behind until finally going out past the bumper. My axle keeps hitting the top of that loop ... hard. I only see two points of support on the whole damn exhaust system, one way up in front of the cat. and the welded bar back near the shocks and that doesn't seem like enough to me.

The "death wobble" or so i've heard it called happens only between 40 and 45 mph and shakes violently ... perfectly smooth other than that speed range. I read a lot on here about the various reasons for DW and I'm still not sure what to make of it with all things considered.