Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Looking to Identify this Jeep

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2019, 02:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default Looking to Identify this Jeep

Hey everyone, im brand new to the Jeep Forums, im looking to purchase a used XJ Sport, 98 or 99. And i was hoping to get some quick input on what to look for, as well as hoping someone could identify this modem of Jeep.

Modifications aside, it looks to be a 98 Cherokee XJ Sport, ans has those nice Sport decals on the side fenders, but as ive been looking up Sport models online, im noticing that some models have and dont have that decal....and some sport models have Rocker trim pieces along the side of the Jeep on the doors...where as this Sport in the video does not. Can anyone please tell me exactly what model of Jeep this is??

Lastly ive been told certain Jeeps had electrical wiring issues, but then they were resolved or at least a great deal of them were addressed in later years (i believe 98 and up) can someone confirm??? And can someone simply confirm if the 98's and 99's were "good" years to buy? As long as it has the 4.0l inline 6 engine? Thanks so much guys in advance, i appreciate it.
Old 05-06-2019, 03:37 PM
CF Veteran

Received 89 Likes on 78 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0L

Based on the title of the video it is most likely a 98 Jeep Cherokee (XJ) Sport.

1997-2001 XJ Sport models would all look very similar. Some paint colors and various other exterior trim elements were only available in certain years, but their bodies would be the same (exactly the same).