Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

IMPORTANT UPDATE!! Help Me Out!

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2011, 11:26 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default IMPORTANT UPDATE!! Help Me Out!

I finally can get started on my XJ once again for sure.
This time am not stoppin till i get it running, Now since i have a job its kinda easier to get around things. Any wayss the engine i have right now in my xj is some ****, it had blown 2 rods and i woulda never found out if i never took the iol pan off, or the bigg knock it did when tried to start up. Soo i have to overHual that engine and get my self another working engine from My local Yunk yard, I might even buy another cherokee from a guy here on cherokeeforum and take that engine out of and just use the jeep for parts for mine. This is my first time overhualin an inline 6 from a cherokee so am kinda lost on the steps, I want to know if any body here has overhualed there engine, and put in a new or used one that started right up once installed. am going to be needing lots of help, Tips, Advice, Do's and Dont's. so please any thing you have about overhualing an engine from a cherokee and putting another one in, Let me know. Ill take PM's or on here it doesnt matter. i do have the Hanes repair manuel, but i want to hear it from some one that has done it in person them selfs. I have a 1988 Jeep Cherokee Laredo, 4.0 inline 6. So Please Help Me out Here with anything you have or know. Thanks

Last edited by 88Cherokee4x4; 01-19-2011 at 11:28 PM.
Old 01-19-2011, 11:55 PM
X-J

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995 2WD & 1988 4WD
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 242