Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Hydraulic Clutch System

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2013, 12:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Hydraulic Clutch System

Hey Guys!

I'm very thankful to find this forum! This is my first time to post.

This issue involves the hydraulic clutch system on a 1994 Cherokee SE.

The clutch master cylinder was leaking, causing issues, so we decided to replace the whole hydraulic assembly, bought as one part, master, slave and line included, pre-filled, pre-bled.

After the successful installation and testing, it suddenly occurred to me that I had forgotten to remove the little plastic straps that keep the rod pushed into the new slave. I had thought those little straps were for the part transportation only. Of course, NOW I know that I had done nothing wrong to begin with, that the straps were SUPPOSED to remain there, even for installation.

But I did not know that yesterday. Mind you, I know very little about the workings of the 'innards' within the dark chambers of that transmission that I felt I had probably just violated with plastic debris. Even though everything was now working great, I just wanted to make sure that those little snapped straps wouldn't in some way negatively affect the operation of my friend's vehicle.

So, without much forethought, I went ahead and grabbed the socket and the wrench. Once the slave was unbolted, I had my friend go get a knife while I held the piston back. I then cut the little snapped straps from the tip of the piston and bolted the thing back on.

When my friend tried to test the clutch ... almost no resistance from the clutch pedal.