Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Hho generator on an xj

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2009, 04:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 High Output
Default Hho generator on an xj

Hi All,
I have been building and researching the HHO theory for about 3 years now, I have built a few generators, and I have now installed one on my 96 cherokee sport. Anybody else trying this? maybe we can swop ideas?
Old 06-25-2009, 11:14 AM
CF Veteran

Received 482 Likes on 413 Posts
Year: 1986
Engine: 4.3L with headers and full 3" exhaust system

Yes, I have considered this and concluded that it would be too dangerous on my vehicle. Not all my gas in the line is used in the engine. The surplus is recirculated back to the tank. This would leave a hydrogen/oxygen mixture in the tank. Gas tanks are safe because they don't contain enough air to allow gas to burn. But if you introduce pure oxygen into the mixture, that changes a lot. A rear end collision could make you a good candidate for a movie shot, you know, where the car explodes and takes everything out for miles.
Old 06-25-2009, 01:04 PM

Ha Ha, another movie lover!! Cool! although I am running a 11 plate dry cell, connected to my vacuum line too. I have a bubbler capable of holding just over a litr liquid. I have no worries about collisions, explosions etc. I have heard of guys putting a inline flash arrestor if you are running the generator from your boot but man its sooo much easier to run it from the engine bay. I get about 2 litres a minute gas output. It makes my jeep run smoother, and alot cooler, and of course cheaper!
Old 06-25-2009, 01:17 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0L

show us some pics of this generator.....
Old 06-30-2009, 08:52 AM

Originally Posted by bsljacques
show us some pics of this generator.....