Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Help Me Please! Cherokee '98 XJ Problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2014, 02:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Default Help Me Please! Cherokee '98 XJ Problems

I bought a Jeep Cherokee '98 Sport (4x4/Auto./6 cyl.) from someone in my city recently and began to only open up the Pandora's Box of unknown issues with this vehicle. I am completely new to owning a vehicle and would highly appreciate it if someone with a higher education than myself could mentor and help me in solving these troubling mechanical problems. The Cherokee is currently sitting in shop for a diagnosis but I feel that coming to this forum and talking to people of this nature would serve better (or equal) justice rather than a common mechanic who works on 50 other vehicles a day. I will post pictures as soon as I possibly can.
The issue(s) are as follows: (excuse my poor vocabulary)
1. When I first enter the XJ, I would insert my key into the ignition. Before I start the engine, I move from Park to Neutral. I then start the vehicle and it will run. (sometimes) Most of the time, when I insert the key, move from Park to Neutral, the XJ will attempt to run but falls short and I must retry (approx. 20 times). From time to time, the ignition just *clicks* and does not even attempt to run. After many attempts of trying to desperately in restart this procedure of taking out the key and inserting it again to run the engine along with long waits of 30 minutes or so, the Jeep will finally start and begin to run.