Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Help identify this grinding noise please. Have video

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2012, 12:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Help identify this grinding noise please. Have video

Ok newest update I am going to replace both the front calipers autozone near me has them instock anything wierd I should know?

ok I have determinded it is the brake pads rubbing on the rotor? Any ideas?

Hey guys a little back story. I just bought this jeep to turn into a weekend wheeler. I am not a super mechanic and the plans I have for this jeep are going to be the most technical I have been in auto repair.

So I bought this on Sunday and am going through all the parts checking it out and changing fluids lubing the steering and I had noticed a very quiet grinding noise when I was driving it so well I was lubing it I was spinning the wheels and picked up the noise again. I took a video of it to see if anyone could help identify it. It seems to be coming from both wheels but is more noticable on the passenger side. This part was pulled alittle away not sure if this needs to be seated all the way back or not? Thanks for taking a looking.

<<<Video link is here.

Last edited by Rearwardassist; 09-13-2012 at 10:01 PM.
Old 09-12-2012, 12:30 AM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0L I6

Wheel bearing?
Old 09-12-2012, 12:36 AM

Ok looking at the diagram that looks like a pretty easy thing to get to just remove the hub and its there right?
Old 09-12-2012, 01:09 AM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts

Might just be a brake pad rubbing slightly on the rotor. Hard to tell from a video. Remove the caliper and pads, set them aside and spin the wheel again.
You could stick a piece of plastic tubing in your ear and move it around, it'll help you pinpoint the noise source.