Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Headlight Problem

Old 03-26-2013, 09:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Headlight Problem

I had to replace the headlight switch and plug cause there were melted. I picked up replacements from autozone.Some of the wires on the new plug weren't an exact match to the original so i spliced according to pin location using the oem plug as a guide.It worked great for a couple of days and while driving yesterday i saw smoke coming from the switch so i jumped out and unpluged the battery.This morning i pulled the entire dash and all of the factory installed electrical tape around the wires was intact, no sign of anything melted.I'm not good with electrical stuff so before i start peeling tape off all the way to the fuse box and then under the hood can some one please tell what steps i should take.The headlights appear to be sylvania seal beams.
Old 03-26-2013, 09:34 PM
CF Veteran

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Year: My Jeep is a GMC

Why not just toss in a relay to take the load off of the switch? You can buy/make the H4 harness upgrade.
Old 03-26-2013, 10:59 PM
CF Veteran

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 2015, 2012
Model: Grand Cherokee (WK2)
Engine: 3.6L

Well that's not fixing the actual problem. He's got a fire hazard.

He's got a short to ground somewhere. Probably a wire around the headlight area has rubbed against something, or the insulation is broken.

I would start where the headlight harness passes through the headlight bucket on the way to the headlight plug.
Old 03-27-2013, 08:09 AM

I'll start at headlight harness.not good with solving electrical stuff so Ill surf eBay for a heavy duty harness just in case.

Originally Posted by Firestorm500
Well that's not fixing the actual problem. He's got a fire hazard.