Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

head Gasket Replace - Tucson, AZ

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2013, 09:33 AM
jor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Cherokee
Default head Gasket Replace - Tucson, AZ

I have a blown head gasket on my 98 4L Cherokee. I'm looking for a mechanic recommendation in the Tucson area. I got one quote for this yesterday but it seems quite high to me at $1,200 to $1,500 (head bolts, pressure check head, resurface, valve seals). Anyhow, any experience with typical cost of this procedure and/or Tucson area mechanics? Thanks.
jor
Old 12-04-2013, 10:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: 2.5 gasoline

That's a good price honestly. I'm relatively new to jeeps, but I know when I replaced the head gasket on my volvo I spent about $100 on gaskets, $100 for a new radiator, $500 for the head to be resurfaced, straightened, and a valve job, $90 on head bolts, $30 on the chemical valve cover gasket, tools, etc. I think in the end I spent around $800 and if I had a job at the time I wouldve spent more to do it right. A mechanic quoted me around $2000-2500 to do it. Depending on why the head blew I'm assuming it would cost around $400 to do it on a jeep assuming all of the valves are salvageable and the head isn't cracked. An extra $800 on labor for that type of job is nothing.
Old 12-04-2013, 11:08 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 88
Engine: 4.0

That kinda high imo. I'm charging someone around 700 to do headgasket on a malibu. The resurface and clean is 80 the gaskets and whatever else is around 300-400. If you can do the work yourself you will save a bundle of cash or have a buddy help and throw him some cash. Plus you'll learn how.
Old 12-05-2013, 12:24 AM

Year: 97