Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Grocery List of Issues with '89 4.0

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2014, 05:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Grocery List of Issues with '89 4.0

So I bought this rig almost 3 months ago and I've ben lurking several forums and reading all that I can about these things and their gremlins. I've already corrected several issues pertinent to basic operation of the vehicle. I'm not a novice mechanic by any mean, but I'm also not a professional. I can handle just about anything as long as it doesn't require some high dollar specialty device. Anyway, moving on...

I'm unable to correct a few different things now that I feel may be related, but might not be. The PO took the liberty of direct wiring several things that he couldn't figure out such as some LED front turn signals, because the stockers don't work though the parking lamps do illuminate, the HVAC is wired to a switch because it doesn't turn on via the dash assembly, the cruise control doesn't work, theres no AC (just blows air, whatever the temperature is from the inlet I suppose), and the electric fan doesn't work. There are many other things besides that, but I;m just working my list of things that should "work" but don't.

So the cruise control: it could be the stalk switch, I can't tell. It doesn't set at all, and also won't accelerate via the resume switch. I have read that this, the HVAC, and some other things can all be caused by a vacuum leak but I cannot for the life of me find one. I have replaced several lines and have looked at every connection I can find otherwise, still can't find one.

The turn signals: these do work, but just the LED strips and not the actual bulb, which as mentioned is illuminated as a parking lamp. The rear signals work fine and are stock. No idea on that issue.