Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

get a couple of questions? i need some feedback!

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2009, 10:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default get a couple of questions? i need some feedback!

hey guys im new to the off-road life, and i just got my 96 xj and im still doing some stuff to it but i was wondering about my engine heating up and was thinking about putting hood louvers on. the question i have is what about the water? is it going to hurt my engine ? do i need to put something on it to stop the water or what? also i have 33's on my xj and was wondering if i needed to change my gear ratio? also im putting some pictures up if you guys can take a look and let me know what you think, and or if you see anything that i should change let me know like i said I'm new to this and i need some help! thanks guys

Old 08-31-2009, 10:49 AM

Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0

not much advice on the water, but looks like a really nice jeep
Old 08-31-2009, 11:36 AM

Engine: 4.0L

nice lookin jeep man, Did you buy it with all that stuff put on there? For the heating thing.. Check your fan clutch and see if its running at full speed. I just replaced mine and that's what solved my problem. It just took me going through a cap, thermostat, water pump, and new hoses to figure it out. The hood vents dont really do much in my experiences. Air gets sucked in through the radiator but exhausted out the bottom.. The vents are so passive sitting on top of the hood it's not really worth the time, effort, money, and dumb look it gives you. I don't mean to burst your bubble but you can do what you want ya know. Do you have links to bigger pictures? What kind of roof rack is that?