Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

General Maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2014, 02:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default General Maintenance

I'm new to the whole maintenance thing. If I have instructions I can do just about anything. So my question is...what are some good maintenance things to be done?

I'm changing the oil this weekend as it needs to be done.

2000 XJ
4.0L Automatic
74xxx miles

Thanks,
Shawn

Last edited by hArLtRoN; 03-26-2014 at 02:12 PM.
Old 03-26-2014, 02:21 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0 i6

Originally Posted by hArLtRoN
I'm new to the whole maintenance thing. If I have instructions I can do just about anything. So my question is...what are some good maintenance things to be done?

2000 XJ
4.0L Automatic
74xxx miles

Thanks,
Shawn
change out all of the fluids.
New oil. See salads post on oil choice for 4.0
https://www.cherokeeforum.com/f2/rot...essing-188168/

Drain and fill the trans a few times, especially since you have low miles. Make SURE you use dexron mercon III, and not ATF+4, regardless of what you hear...There is a drain plug, so its quick and easy.

Flush the coolant, Replace power steering FL, Brake FL. Change differential fluid and transfer case fluid... (might be a bit early mileage wise, but might as well do it if you get a chance.

As long as you keep up that stuff, the cherokee will treat you right.

Maybe invest in a decent aux transmission cooler since these transmissions run a bit hot. Very inexpensive and easy to do.

Inspect all suspension and steering components, especially if you have any death wobble or anything like that.

And a tune up with Champion or NGK copper plugs, and good wires
Old 03-26-2014, 02:22 PM

2000 XJ
4.0L Automatic
74xxx miles

Thanks,
Shawn