Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

gauges

Old 10-05-2011, 05:54 PM
  #1  
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
diablotattoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: wooddale
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 5.2
Default

My 1996 grand Cherokee gauges stopped working and the fuses are fine? Any suggestions...

Last edited by diablotattoo; 10-05-2011 at 05:57 PM.
diablotattoo is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 06:03 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Fsher21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: MI 48642
Posts: 882
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default

Not so grand now is it?

Make sure all the wiring behind it is ok. Do you get back lighting even with the gauges not working or not?
Fsher21 is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 07:05 AM
  #3  
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
diablotattoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: wooddale
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 5.2
Default

Yes all the parking lights work ,somebody told me maybe the headlight switch cause everything runs through it?
diablotattoo is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 02:26 PM
  #4  
Newbie
 
tedde's96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 19
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

gauges-image-2473836830.jpg

Put in ur own.
tedde's96 is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 11:52 AM
  #5  
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
diablotattoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: wooddale
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 5.2
Default

Ok guys, everything works until I start it then I loose Windows ,radio control and gauges,well you get the idea! Somebody said possibly the ignition?
diablotattoo is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 04:20 PM
  #6  
Seasoned Member
 
gotme1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pingree Grove IL
Posts: 362
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1991
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 H.O.
Default

[QUOTE=Fsher21;1239120]Not so grand now is it?

hahaha
gotme1 is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 05:36 PM
  #7  
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1989
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default

well it could be the ignition switch there's alot of wires coming off of it for the various dash components. if you can take the housing for the steering column apart and test each of the leads coming off of the ignition switch with a multimeter while you have the power on, not the engine. if any of them are dead or have a low voltage that is likely to be you're problem. new switches don't cost alot and the hardest part is taking the key cylinder out. hope this helps.
Desarial is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 07:05 PM
  #8  
Seasoned Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Outside of RTP NC
Posts: 451
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1993
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: V8
Default

A 10 grand tach in a Jeep......you sooo funny!
The only way that Jeep will see 10 grand is in an air lift.

Ron
jronald is offline  
Old 10-07-2011, 09:17 PM
  #9  
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
diablotattoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: wooddale
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 5.2
Default

Well I changed the ignition switch and nothing has changed
diablotattoo is offline  
Old 10-08-2011, 05:07 AM
  #10  
CF Veteran
 
freegdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Broward County Fl.
Posts: 47,924
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors
Default

you have two fuse boxes or one????
freegdr is offline  
Old 10-08-2011, 05:12 AM
  #11  
CF Veteran
 
freegdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Broward County Fl.
Posts: 47,924
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors
Default

freegdr is offline  
Old 10-08-2011, 06:36 AM
  #12  
Caracticus Potts The Mod
 
Willys55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hainsville, NJ
Posts: 5,279
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Grand Cherokee
Default

If you have a meter or can borrow one try looking at this....
1. Monitor the Chrysler Collision Detection (CCD) Bus voltage at the Diagnostic Link Connector (DLC) pin 3 (Violet/Brown), pin 11 (White/Black). Each pin should have 2.5 volts whenever the key is "on". Duplicate the problem and see if the voltage is changing when the problem occurs. If it does, this indicates a bus circuit problem.

2. Try running the self test on the instrument cluster when the problem occurs. To run the self test, begin with the key in the "off" position. Press the trip reset button. Continue holding the trip reset button and turn the key to the "on" position. Do not start the engine. Release the button. Observe the gauges and see if they run through the self test. The gauges should sweep and the various warning lights should turn on and off. If the cluster will not run the self test, it is likely at fault. Verify the power and ground and bus voltage, and if OK, replace it.
Faulty Dash operation on the Grand Cherokee can have many causing facters, including but not limited to blown fuses, rubbed through wires and a bad Body Control Module(BCM)
Willys55 is offline  
Old 10-08-2011, 08:43 AM
  #13  
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
diablotattoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: wooddale
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 5.2
Default

Two,and when I start it the gauges die but when I turn the ignition switch back like 1/16 of a inch still running the gauges work but I loose the information center but if I turn the lights on I loose the gauges...
diablotattoo is offline  
Old 10-08-2011, 08:53 AM
  #14  
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
diablotattoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: wooddale
Posts: 10
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 5.2
Default

I tried a self test and I got nothing
diablotattoo is offline  
Old 10-08-2011, 09:09 AM
  #15  
Caracticus Potts The Mod
 
Willys55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hainsville, NJ
Posts: 5,279
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Grand Cherokee
Default

Either you have a bad ground, which would explain the loss when the lights are switched on or your cluster is in need of replacement. Check the wires at the OBDII plug as stated in my first post.
Willys55 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: gauges


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description: