Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Death wobble

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2013, 06:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Death wobble

Hello all, I am new to the jeep community. I bought my 95' xj yesterday. I drove it 200 miles home, cruising at 75. 15 miles from home, I hit a small bump in the highway and it started shaking like I lost all but one lug nut on all my wheels. After some research, I found that that's "death wobble". I checked all my suspension components, all seam tight. This is my family wagon these days I can't have it doing that with my daughters in the back. So....... Light me up. At this point, I'm about to replace every bushing and ball joint the thing has. Any comments or suggestions? By the way; it has a 2" suspension lift with stock wheels and tires
Old 11-06-2013, 07:04 PM
Herp Derp Jerp

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0L OBD-II

Hey, welcome to the forum... and the death wobble club! Prime suspect is the track bar, the joints/bushings wear a lot faster when lifted. Otherwise you're right, DW is the front end resonating because *something* is loose, could be anything.
Old 11-06-2013, 07:06 PM
CF Veteran

Received 99 Likes on 88 Posts
Engine: 4.0

My understanding of “death wobble” is this. Somewhere in the vehicle, one or more components is worn beyond tolerances, and when oscillation initiates from a suspension “traumatic” event (hitting a bump or a pothole) or also when a vibration reaches a certain point and harmonic at a certain speed, it causes the other components to react. This is called the “multiplier effect”, where one component affects one or more other components as the event travels through the front end of the vehicle.