Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Cranks but wont start! Backfires! Not CPS!

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2019, 02:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default Cranks but wont start! Backfires! Not CPS!

Good afternoon all. I'm a noob here. I'm praying someone here can help me. My fiance has a RHD 98 mail jeep. It's been been a piece of work due to the previous owner and I've been able to search here and figure it out until now.

She was driving down the road and heard a "pop" then it died. Wouldn't start. Went and trailed it home and dug in. Tested the CPS as it was my preliminary culprit. It reads fine.

Checked for spark at the coil and I got it. Have spark at all 6 cylinders spark plugs.

Replaced the cap and rotor and plugs.

About a month back I replaced the TPS. It had and still has code P0122. Replacing it didnt make it go away. But it checks out fine. I also jumped the signal and constant 12v to check for a short in the system and nothing.

It cranks and cranks and cranks but will not start. Occasionally, randomly, when you let off the key it will pop a puff of smoke through the throttle body. (I have the intake off).

I have 4 codes currently. But they've been since before this.

P0443
P0122
P0705
P1694

I'm at my end of ideas here. Hoping someone can shed some light as to what I'm missing.
Old 11-09-2019, 04:16 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 58 Likes on 48 Posts

Just for grins, pop off the distributor cap and look for rotation of the rotor while cranking.
Old 11-09-2019, 04:36 PM

Originally Posted by Idunno
Just for grins, pop off the distributor cap and look for rotation of the rotor while cranking.
I'll give it a try and report back.
Old 11-09-2019, 06:11 PM
Banned

Received 169 Likes on 156 Posts
Year: 2004
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0