Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Coolant Loss (Already used Search Button)

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2012, 01:39 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Coolant Loss (Already used Search Button)

I've been researching since I picked up my 2000 Cherokee with 167,000 miles about a month ago.
My coolant level in my overflow bottle is always getting low. I've taken it in and had a pressure test done on the radiator and and they did a block test as well. Everything checked out ok. I'm not seeing any sign of coolant in the oil or oil in the coolant. Cannot see any leaks. Cannot see a crack through oil fill hole, do not see coolant through oil fill hole while engine is running. No steam from exhaust. No coolant smell. Engine runs very strong.
I would not think anything is wrong except the low coolant. The level in the radiator itself is always full. Mechanic tells me to monitor the radiator and not the overflow bottle.
Any help would be appreciated. What else am I missing?
Old 11-06-2012, 02:07 PM
CF Veteran

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors

Originally Posted by Jumpalot
I've been researching since I picked up my 2000 Cherokee with 167,000 miles about a month ago.
My coolant level in my overflow bottle is always getting low. I've taken it in and had a pressure test done on the radiator and and they did a block test as well. Everything checked out ok. I'm not seeing any sign of coolant in the oil or oil in the coolant. Cannot see any leaks. Cannot see a crack through oil fill hole, do not see coolant through oil fill hole while engine is running. No steam from exhaust. No coolant smell. Engine runs very strong.