Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

compression test long story read if you want ;)

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2010, 09:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1989
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L i6
Default compression test long story read if you want ;)

Hello everybody
OK, I know my jeep is messed up, but it runs and I enjoy it day after day despite all its little problems.

Fluids / wires/plug/rotor. distributor cap and plugs are new
Jeep laredo 89 200K miles
Noisy engine that is knocking

Yesterday I decided to do a compression test. Granted I have never done that before, i followed instructions on the Haynes book that were confirmed in this forum. Throttle open, wire coil grounded to the engine block and fuel pump relay disconnected, 7 strokes

Here are the results:
pressure max at first stoke for all of them
#1: 60 plug looked clean
#2: 60 plug looked clean
#3: 60 plug looked clean
#4: 58 plug looked clean
#5: 35 plug had some soot on it
#6: 30 plug had soot mixed with oil deposit.

This is my interpretation: OOPS
They are low (120-150 according to the book) so this is not good. % and 6 are really low compared to other so maybe a blown head gasket but there is no coolant in the oil (I changed it and collected in a clear bottle).
The jeep is running fine, I went good on the Highway up the hill and felt more power than in my other car and had no pb maintaining a 60mph speed in 4th gear up a 10%grade hill.
Jeep doesn't smoke either, not losing oil or coolant.

I am trying to learn and fix by myself things (no prior experience)

So what do you guys think ?
Am I retarded and the readings are low on 1-4 because I didn;t do it properly but still have a problem with 5-6 ?
Can 5-6 cause the knock ?
Old 08-16-2010, 10:04 AM

Year: 1993, 1994
Engine: 4.0L HO