Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Cold Air Intake

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2010, 05:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default Cold Air Intake

Hey guys. I was wandering if anybody has a cold air intake and a aftermarket muffler on their Cherokee, and could tell me the improvements it made over being stock. Specifically I would like to know if adding these upgrades would give me a noticeable increase in gas mileage. I am at college now and I am not getting very good gas mileage due to the large amount of city driving, which isn't a Jeep's best area. I am new to the upgrading of my Jeep so any information anybody has would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 11-19-2010, 06:14 PM

Year: 1987
Engine: 4.0L (Renix)

whats up? Im not a moderator but welcome to JF, i see you just joined!
however, use the search feature, its pretty similar if not exact to almost all forums. There are tons of intake, exhaust, fuel injector, and many other modification posts already. If you cant find one through searching, let me know, id be happy to help!

there are also alot of cool free or cheap modifications in the 'fabrication' section.

and post pics..ppl like pics..its like a moth to a flame...
Old 11-19-2010, 06:20 PM
CF Veteran

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0 High Output

I have both and the only gains ive gotton is a better noise from the exhaust and a sweet sound from the intake when i floor it and maybe 1-2 mpg, dynomax makes a cheap good cat back exhaust and my cold air intake was 50 bucks off ebay. And welcome to the forum, theres plenty of info on here so use the search bar for a future reference.
Old 11-19-2010, 07:00 PM

Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0