Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Bucket'o'questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2009, 01:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee
Engine: I6 4.0
Default Bucket'o'questions

Hello to all of you- new to these forums. I just want to mention first that I plan to be as active as I can here, as opposed to just bolting in and out whenever I need something. I have memberships on other auto forums and I know that type of behavior isn't always appreciated. I'm a decent backyard mechanic and a fast learner, but I'm not very familiar with jeeps.

Which brings me here. It's my wife's vehicle- a 97 Cherokee Sport, with about 130k on the I6 4.0 engine.

First of all, we can hear a knocking/thumping sound at idle from the cabin after the engine is up to temp. I've tried isolating it but haven't had any luck, because if I pop the hood the other sounds of the engine drowns it out. I suspect the knock sensor is the cause, but I don't know where to look for it or how to test it.

Second, we're having issues with the windshield defrost. If the fan speed goes over 1, the diverter flap will shut and block air from defrosting the windshield, and it won't open again until the heater is turned off. When it first started happening last year, I traced and checked the vacuum lines for the heater control for leaks. When I couldn't find any, I rigged open the flap, telling myself that I'd get it fixed before next winter. Well next winter is here and I still haven't done anything about it. I didn't know if this was a common problem and what I might be able to do to fix it, because the best I can tell is that the mechanism that controls that flap opening and closing has gone bad, and it looks like I'd have to tear into the dash pretty far to replace it, if I can find a replacement at all.