Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Before I dump money into the XJ, here's my rust.

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2015, 11:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 I-6
Default Before I dump money into the XJ, here's my rust.

I'm very familiar/mechanically inclined with much of anything I need to lay my hands on - except rust. I have no experience repairing or helping to prevent rust. I have no clue if the rust that I have is bad or I'm overthinking it. Here are a couple example pics, pretty much the whole underbody is like this. I bought the jeep when I was in college so I didnt really take a gander under it then since I had no intention of keeping it forever. But thanks to the forums I've been bit by the bug

I'm at the point now where I'm able to put some money into it for needed repairs and wanted upgrades. My question here is, is the rust that I show in the pics at the point where I should sell this one and pick up another XJ from down south to build up, or just flap wheel this and shoot it with some underbody coating? Seems like taking a flap wheel to it will be a ton of work given all of the angles and corners. These pics are from under the driver-rear of the car, looking up from approximately where the brake lines are running.

It doesn't seem to be rusting through anywhere (at least on the underbody, rust on my doors and rockers are at the point where I've made plans to cut and weld in some new sheet metal in. ) so I believe it's just on the surface but I'm looking for some expert opinions before I put money into building it. Any car at 15 years old will have it, but would this be worth fixing?

Yeah, my rear diff is leaking from somewhere. It's on the fix-it list