Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Bad oil leak on 4.0 please help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2019, 06:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default Bad oil leak on 4.0 please help!

So while driving my jeep tonight, it started puking oil, i cant for the life of me figure out where! The only thing ive done to the jeep that isnt stock is an oil breather, i also recently replaced the pcv valve. Oil pressure was normal while driving but when stopped goes down below halfway on the gauge...
Any ideas or a common issue the 4.0 has with oil leaking would be appreciated as im new to the jeep world.
Old 02-02-2019, 07:42 PM

Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts
Year: 89
Model: Cherokee

oil filter adapter maybe
Old 02-02-2019, 07:55 PM

Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: 4.0L I6

Originally Posted by Desertsandxj96
So while driving my jeep tonight, it started puking oil, i cant for the life of me figure out where! The only thing ive done to the jeep that isnt stock is an oil breather, i also recently replaced the pcv valve. Oil pressure was normal while driving but when stopped goes down below halfway on the gauge...
Any ideas or a common issue the 4.0 has with oil leaking would be appreciated as im new to the jeep world.
You need to give more information than this. Area/region of the leak, pictures, etc.
Old 02-02-2019, 09:00 PM

Received 122 Likes on 103 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: 4.0

Hard to say. Clean it off with cleaner, let it dry, and try tracking it down again.

Mine developed a mystery rust hole on the back of the oil pan 2" from the bottom. A little trusty JB Weld did the trick.
Old 02-02-2019, 09:04 PM
gat

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 1992
Engine: 4.0L L6 PowerTech (stock)