Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Back-end Vibration

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2012, 11:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Back-end Vibration

I have a '92 Cherokee, I-6 (4.0L), Automatic, 4x4. A few weeks ago i hit the gas (75mph) to pass someone and when i eased off (60mph) i noticed a vibration/rumble from my back end. Since then, there has been a vibration/rumble in my back end, and it gets louder and u can start to feel it when u gun the engine or go up a hill (basically anytime there is torque). So far i have ruled out the tires, as they are pretty new with no visible problems, and the fact i rotated them but still the problem is localized to the back end.

Any Ideas on what I should check first? Im no mechanic, with only body experience and im new to posting on a forum. Its my wifes daily driver, and we live in the desert, so PLEASE HELP!
Old 01-02-2012, 03:28 PM
Renix Super Guru

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 1990XJ/1989MJ
Model: Comanche
Engine: 4.0L Renix

Check rear swaybar bushings and also check if you have the proper fluid level in the differentials.

BTW I moved this to the OEM section so that you might get some answers.

The questions and suggestions section is for questions and suggestions about the site not your Jeep.
Old 01-02-2012, 03:34 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

Check the u joints, and when you say gun the engine are you moving or not, makes a difference.
Old 01-02-2012, 04:04 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1999
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

x2 on the u-joint
Old 01-02-2012, 04:57 PM

Originally Posted by leecarr
Check the u joints, and when you say gun the engine are you moving or not, makes a difference.
Yeah i ment hitting the gas hard while driving
Old 01-02-2012, 05:05 PM

Originally Posted by BlueXJ