Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Auto tranny problems

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2009, 02:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Exclamation Auto tranny problems

Hello,
I am brand new to the Jeep world. i just got a 1996 cherokee sport but i am have problems with the tranny! when its cold it seems to shift good but when it warms up its crazy! symptoms: no passing gear, no overdrive, forced to shift manually! the fluid is good and the TV cable is adjusted and tight. please let me know if you have had similar problems and what you can suggest on a fix! i have taken it to 2 tranny shops and both sayt is a "toyota" transmission and will have to be rebuilt! $1800-$2500. most of my friends say its not worth it but i am really begining to likethis truck, it has some real potential. thanks in advance and happy trails!
Old 02-06-2009, 03:16 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 95
Engine: stock

i just had same **** with mine, drain oil went alright for a bit and then died in the middle of no where, have been told they are toyota..do what i did and put a 2nd hand one in.mine cost $500.00 with a 90 day warrenty..im not good on the tools but did this myself...get a few mates to help out and if ya get stuck ask away on here..good luck mate....mines been sweet as and goes strong again..

Last edited by cantab27; 02-06-2009 at 03:19 PM. Reason: c
Old 02-06-2009, 03:24 PM