Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

another horrible running jeep thread

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2010, 10:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default another horrible running jeep thread

My question: I have 2 XJ's...a renix 89 and a 97 HO

I have a renix cherokee and there is a site listing all the resistances/test procedures for the renix sensors. It's a wonderful resource.

Is there any such resource for my new to me 97? It ran wonderfully when I got it a few days ago, but it's recently developed an extremely rough idle. It's dumping fuel like it's nobody's business. When i take it out it will clear up after a few minutes and smooths right out. Pull it back into the garage thinking I'm a master mechanic and it starts to get rough again after a moment. There's also a distinct noticeable increase in air flow in the air box during all this.

I changed plugs/wires/cap/rotor after it started to bog out a little at light throttle. It seems to have gotten progressively worse. I cleaned the IAC, and there's no change in idle at all when I un plug it when it's running rough.

I was really hoping to start swapping some of the lift parts around tonight, but it looks like I'll be racking my brain trying to get this diagnosed instead.

I don't have a scanner at my disposal at this very moment and I'd like to check things before I start throwing parts at it.
Old 03-22-2010, 11:39 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1990
Engine: 4.0

You need to pull codes. cycle the key 3 times to on, not start but on, you should get codes in your speedometer layout.. Then find a obd2 code book online, and match code.
Old 03-22-2010, 11:42 PM
Seasoned Member

http://www.obd-codes.com/trouble_codes/dodge/
Old 03-23-2010, 02:18 PM

I got to autozone today and had the codes pulled.