Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Air conditioning mystery - cold air @ defrost only

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2016, 10:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default Air conditioning mystery - cold air @ defrost only

Complete newbie, just bought a 98 Cherokee yesterday. Previous owner stated that he had it 3 years and the A/C never worked. On the way home from picking it up, I was playing around with the A/C controls, and found that in defrost mode, ice cold air would blow out of the side vents.

I can't get air to blow through the dash vents, no matter which setting I turn the **** to. It seems like the compressor is kicking on, and since it was 95 degress outside, I was able to keep the interior cool using the defroster.

Any ideas on what could be going on here/where to start sorting it out? I would rather try to tackle this myself, instead of just running off to a repair shop and bleeding cash immediately.

Thanks!
Old 07-20-2016, 10:34 AM
CF Veteran

Received 82 Likes on 67 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

Your HVAC unit vent doors are vacuum controlled. A loss of vacuum to the HVAC Mode Selector will default to Defrost.

More than likely you have a broken vacuum line in your engine bay that you should try and find. Below are pics of the vacuum lines you should examine.

Schematic of the vacuum lines:

Name:  jpgrev194_96VacuumSystem.jpg
Views: 3244
Size:  145.3 KB
Start at the intake manifold and move across the firewall:

Name:  jpgVacuumconnectionsatintake.jpg
Views: 1572
Size:  127.7 KB
Name:  jpghvacvactubechafarea.jpg
Views: 1613
Size:  109.0 KB
You may or may not have a check valve where the small tube enters the firewall. This small tube is the vacuum feed to the HVAC Mode Selector.
Name:  jpgHVACCheckValve.jpg
Views: 1958
Size:  82.6 KB