Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

98 XJ AW4 Transmission Issues

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2017, 11:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 98 XJ AW4 Transmission Issues

Hey guys. I'm new to this, it's my first time on these forums. I have a 98 Jeep Cherokee Sport, it has 237K on original motor an trans. With all the snow up here in Wisconsin I got itchy to play in it an I beat my jeep quite a bit, climbing through banks and climbing a couple hills. It seemed to be handling it fine. I took it home an parked it for the night. Got up the next morning, let it warm up to temp, and went for a ride an when I came to a stop sign. The trans was in "D" of course. It was like it was in third gear, revved high before moving, but once it got going, it moved good, but it seemed as if OD wasn't kicking in either. I stopped it, an began manually shifting it an everything worked fine. But once back in "D" it hesitated at stops again and didn't go into OD. This goes on and off. Sometimes, it shifts smoothly from 1 to 4 sometimes, it does that same hesitation at stops. Also it seems at certain times, when I come to a stop an keep it in "D", rev it up a couple times, it'll kick into "D" an everything will work fine again. I'm quite stuck with this. I'm not sure if it's just the fluid, or something serious. I'm hoping it's not serious. I've been debating on replacing many different possibilities, I've searched around on forums to find the issue an I can never find my exact issue...if anybody has any answers, it'd be greatly appreciated. Sorry if this is quite long.
Old 01-30-2017, 07:56 AM
CF Veteran

Received 99 Likes on 88 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

1. Have you checked fluid level on the dipstick?

2. What is history of transmission fluid changes? Last one was.......?