Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

97 xj front axle seals leaking???? Hard fix???

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2018, 09:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1997
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 straight 6
Default 97 xj front axle seals leaking???? Hard fix???

Hello to everyone in xj land. I was putting new front brakes on my xj today when i saw that the front driver side axle seal was starting to leak. I hopped on you tube to get an idea how hard it would be to fix. Was hoping someone on here thats done this repair could chime in with any tips or pointers on how to replace them. Are special tools needed? Whats the easiest way to drive them out and back in? Im a good mechanic...i just get nervous when i have to start removing carrier assemblies as ive never done it before and i know if something gets screwed up....i could completely toast my front axle.
Old 07-08-2018, 08:55 PM
CF Veteran

Received 952 Likes on 767 Posts
Year: 1998 Classic (I'll get it running soon....) and 02 Grand
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0

I have no clue myself, but I'll bet you could get some help from Bleepin' Jeep.

https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...eep+axle+seals
Old 07-09-2018, 10:37 AM
CF Veteran

Received 234 Likes on 207 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: I6 4.0L

I just did axle seals on my 95 and it should be similar on the 97. I had never done them before.

I ordered Spicer seals from either Amazon or Rockauto, I can't remember which, but I always feel you can't go wrong with the OEM part and they are Made in the U.S.A.

Removing and re-installing the carrier was a lot easier than I expected. Once you have have the bearing caps off it really is just a bit of upward pressure with a pry-bar (in my case I used a BFS (Big f'n screwdriver) which worked well) and then carefully lifted it out and set it on some cardboard.