Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

87' Cherokee Laredo Transmission Help

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2012, 06:19 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1987
Model: Cherokee
Engine: Inline 6 cylinder
Exclamation 87' Cherokee Laredo Transmission Help

Hello, guys. I am a newbie and a new Jeep owner. So cut me some slack. But my Jeep's transmission is doing weird stuff. It won't get any power when I put it into drive. But I can almost spin my wheels when I manually put it into first gear. So what I'm trying to say is that it doesn't work in drive, but it does work when I manually shift into 1st and up.
Would anyone perhaps know why?

P.S.-I looked around on the internet for a little while and found a few suggestions. And the TPS was one of them. But, I know that's not the problem because we replaced it.

P.S.S-I have the I6 engine and the AW-4 tranny. It is "part-time" 4WD. The "Command-Track" if I'm not mistaken.

Last edited by matt0106; 07-18-2012 at 06:42 PM.
Old 07-18-2012, 09:20 PM
::CF Moderator::

Received 1,526 Likes on 1,238 Posts
Year: 1990
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0

First off, we're cutting you no slack!! Up under the glove compartment on that trim piece is your TCU. Transmission Control Unit. In the wiring harness near that, with some yellow tape around it, is an inline fuse. If that fuse is blown or corroded, the TCU won't let the trans start out in first gear. Pull it out and give it a good visual inspection. Check that first and report back.
Old 07-18-2012, 10:06 PM
CF Veteran

Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts
Year: 90,84
Engine: 4.0,2.5

A different angle on the same thing. Make sure it's plugged in also, and I'll wager next you will check the wires going down behind the dipstick.
Attached Thumbnails 87' Cherokee Laredo Transmission Help-101_0009.jpg  
Old 07-18-2012, 11:12 PM