Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

2001 Jeep XJ Misfire Problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2017, 02:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 2001 Jeep XJ Misfire Problem

Hey guys, so I am new to this, so I figure before I state the issue I'll go about with the details for the car. I have a 2001 Jeep Cherokee Classic that is painted silver. It does have the Infinity Sound System in it and it is the 4WD model with an automatic transmission. It is completely stock except for a trailer hitch, a new radio receiver, and I replaced the rusted muffler and exhaust pipe. It has 186,371 miles on it and runs perfectly fine except for this one problem...

When I am driving down any road (I don't typically rev over 2,000 RPM) and I come to a stop, my engine starts to shake a little bit and then smoke and a horrible smell comes out the driver's side of the hood. I check the thermometer and it's fine, it's not overheating or anything, because when it has done it I immediately try to feel the smoke to see if it's hot, and it feels just like air. I've taken it to have the check engine light read on it, and the codes are all misfire codes. The most prominent one is a P0303 (cylinder 3) misfire code. I've replaced the spark plugs, so I know it's not that. When I am cruising down the interstate at around 55-60 mph, my XJ starts to sputter a little bit. I've taken it to a mechanic and he looked at it and had it for a week, took it to what he calls "The Machine" and then gave it back to me and said that nothing was wrong with it. I don't know what else to do. Help!
Old 09-24-2017, 05:03 PM
Banned

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: Golen 4.6L

Have you been losing coolant from your overflow bottle? Have you noticed your oil level rising between oil changes?