Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.
Old 09-16-2015, 06:53 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Electrical Guides
Print Wikipost

1996 Jeep Cherokee Ignition Coil Removal

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2012, 04:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: Inline 6
Default 1996 Jeep Cherokee Ignition Coil Removal

Hello everyone, my name is Thor, this is my first time posting in the forum.

I have a 96 jeep cherokee inline-6 4.0 automatic, Which has been sitting for about a year. During that year I made good attempt to go out and start her up and move her around some. Last month I replaced the radiator myself and drove it out into the drive way to replace all the brakes. Alas the next morning she wouldn't start. Put key in, turn over, engine sounds fine but no combustion just sits and turns over. I tried priming the carburetor with starter fluid but im not getting spark to it. So I replaced the distrib cap, spark plugs, and checked the wires from distrib to spark plugs but it still wouldn't fire

I was lost untill I read about the "Key trick," I did that and the check engine light spit out 3, 5, 5. I looked it up on a website somewhere and it said the code was for a #5 coil problem. I pulled out my Haynes manual to help me remove the coil but its almost worthless.

My question is what do I need to remove to get at the coil? Or is there a walk through somewhere that is more detailed then my Haynes manual which just says "remove the coil."

I am not the most experienced when it comes to car repair but I would really love to be able to fix her myself.
Attached Thumbnails 1996 Jeep Cherokee Ignition Coil Removal-2012-04-22-13.50.39.jpg   1996 Jeep Cherokee Ignition Coil Removal-2012-04-22-13.50.22.jpg