Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

1990 cherokee limited help

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2008, 01:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 1990 cherokee limited help

hey everyone, I am new to jeep I have owned everything else but these so I could you some help. I am haveing issues with the rpm's being to high. I am sitting around 750rpm in gear and park and neutral about 1200-1500 rpm. when you go from drive to reverse it is like you are doing a tranny drop. the other issue is that the tranny is very rough on the shifts is this normal or is there something I should be investigating so that I don't cause damage to anything. So far I have replaced the tps and switched out the sensor just to the left of the tps, not sure what it is called. I know that the solanoid in the tranny is putting up a code on the computer aswell. not sure if that is the cause of the rough shift. any and all help would be appreciated.
Old 08-31-2008, 01:56 PM
CF Veteran

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Year: 87
Model: Wagoneer
Engine: 4.0 I6

Damn I would say check your TPS lol. Did you adjust it any. TPS is not an item that you can just install you must adjust it with a multimeter for it to work properly. You really shouldn't be getting any codes on anything if you own a 90 unless someone swapped the motor the 90 would be renix which is the multimeters favorite engine. Have you cleaned out the throttle body or IAC. Seafoam works miracles on there pour a lil in the throttle body while its running and rev it up slowly you should also get some nice White smoke out the exhaust lol.
Old 08-31-2008, 02:41 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1991 Laredo
Engine: 4.0L H.O.

sorry to jump this thread, but where can you buy sea foam?
Old 08-31-2008, 02:48 PM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1998