Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

01 cherokee rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2011, 06:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default 01 cherokee rebuild

I just had the motor rebuilt on my 01 cherokee inline 6. Had a cracked head. took them 5 weeks, but thats a whole other story. I picked it up today they said it had a slight tapping noise (its louder than slight) that would working its self out in a few days. It sounds like a lifter. Im not a mechanic but i know it should not be doing this. Said they put 50w oil in it cause it was a rebuild and to get the oil changed in about 100 miles with 50w again.
Does this sound noise/tapping normal to anyone else? They said just need to get a few miles on it, break in all the lifters and seals. The place that worked on it is a friend so I know they will fix it. Im just not sure it will go away
Old 08-18-2011, 01:49 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1991
Engine: 4.0L HO

Originally Posted by gwayms
I just had the motor rebuilt on my 01 cherokee inline 6. Had a cracked head. took them 5 weeks, but thats a whole other story. I picked it up today they said it had a slight tapping noise (its louder than slight) that would working its self out in a few days. It sounds like a lifter. Im not a mechanic but i know it should not be doing this. Said they put 50w oil in it cause it was a rebuild and to get the oil changed in about 100 miles with 50w again.
Does this sound noise/tapping normal to anyone else? They said just need to get a few miles on it, break in all the lifters and seals. The place that worked on it is a friend so I know they will fix it. Im just not sure it will go away