Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Thoughts: Bilstein 5100's to upgrade from Rough Country 2.0's?

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2016, 12:07 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 L V6
Question Thoughts: Bilstein 5100's to upgrade from Rough Country 2.0's?

Hi all,

I am new to Jeeps in general, and especially suspension kits. I have just purchased my first Jeep ever; the previous owner lifted it 3" and placed Rough Country 2.0 shocks on it. I am feeling every single bump on the road, and have already contacted RC to see of any possible fixes. I have the fixed control arms on the front, but it still seems incredibly harsh going over any type of bumps in the road. I've been researching, and narrowed it down to the shocks. I found that Bilsteins are pretty hyped up, but don't know much about them. Looking for some more experienced opinions, and even help in getting this ride issue fixed. I don't mind putting the extra money into a pair of shocks that will provide a smoother ride at the end of the day, if in fact this is what is thought to be the problem. I know Jeeps aren't going to ride like import cars, but I know there is far better..

Any help, suggestions, or recommendations would be greatly appreciated! Just keep in mind that I am totally inexperienced as of now, so if you mention something, break it down for me!

-Matt
Old 07-20-2016, 01:10 AM
::CF Administrator::

Received 770 Likes on 524 Posts
Year: 97
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.6 stroker

Originally Posted by Mkeelingortega
Hi all,