Fabrication & builders section. All fabrication posts go here.
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ Only projects go here. Questions belong in modified tech.

Welding tips

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2014, 07:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Welding tips

I am really new to welding and realize that what i have for a welder in nothing great, but it is what I have and seems to work for me.

First off my MIG welder is just a Century 100 wire feed converted to MIG with the Lincoln kit. Heavier material, 3/16" and up, has to be done with a double weld.

My first real welding project is the 6X2x3/16 rocker convertion. Not finished yet, but I did get one tube capped and ready to be installed.

Welded

Ground down
Name:  DSC01894_zpsadfec9cf.jpg
Views: 69
Size:  70.3 KB

The caps at 1/8" while the tubing is 3/16". The blue is not heat induced, it is layout dye I used to mark out the caps I ground a 45° chamfer on the tubing and placed my weld in there. I double welded to get as good of a connection as I could.

I know the welds are far from perfect and that is why I am posting here. Any tips on improving my welding aside for taking a course, or buying a bigger welder would be appreciated. For the record I am not a kid just starting out, I am a 50 year old man just starting out and a new welder is not in the budget, and I don't have the time of funds for taking a night course at a community college. besides the nearest college isn't in my community, it is 30 miles away

Thanks
George
Old 09-26-2014, 08:55 AM
::CF Administrator::

Received 770 Likes on 524 Posts
Year: 97
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.6 stroker