Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

XJ body transplant

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2014, 06:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1991
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L Renix and tube header
Default XJ body transplant

So my current XJ body is pretty beat up (I'm a much better driver now then when I started) and I've been thinking about replacing it. I have thought about buying one with a blown motor on CL then tearing it all down and transferring EVERYTHING from my rig to the new body. Sounds like lots of work right? My other idea is to buy a body from a junk yard. In hopes they will remove all the items I don't want or at least most of the items will be already gone if I have to do it myself.

What do you guys think? Anybody venture down this road before?
Old 01-17-2014, 06:29 PM
CF Veteran

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors

I would go for the blown motor approach leaves a lot of extra parts when done .
Old 01-17-2014, 06:30 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 91
Engine: 4.0 I6 H.O.

Parts removed in a junkyard are generally not taken out gently...
Old 01-17-2014, 06:33 PM
CF Veteran

Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Year: 1989 xj sport 2dr
Engine: 12 hole bosch Injectors

Originally Posted by XJPat
Parts removed in a junkyard are generally not taken out gently...
Got that right ....
Old 01-17-2014, 06:33 PM
CF Veteran

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 93 2 door
Engine: 4.0

I've burned through a few XJ's. always nice to have spare parts. but if you're going through the trouble and taking up the space to own 2 jeeps at once, you better be going through and rebuilding everything you can

don't replace, upgrade