Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacing XJ U-Joints With ZJ CV Shafts

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2016, 09:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Replacing XJ U-Joints With ZJ CV Shafts

Hey guys, while I've been out wheeling and when I'm driving on the road I notice how bad the U-Joints operate at high speed. I am looking to replace the U joints with CV shafts to eliminate the uneven rotating speed. For those of you that don't know, U joints have a flaw in there nature. They rotate at a changing angular velocity that becomes more sever as the angle they are experiencing increases. I am an intern studying to be an engineer and one of the challenges we have had is dealing with U Joints on our heavy duty trucks. The Jeep XJ I believe has 3 U-Joints that are not counteracted by another U-Joint. The front U-Joint that inputs to the front axle, and then the two U-Joints that feed the wheels on the front axle. The CV shaft was developed to eliminate this issue and although I am new to Jeeps I know this is a problem for me because I had to have my bevel gears replaced in my front axle I believe because of the changing velocities of the front differential and axle shafts.

What I want to know is can I put the front drive shaft and axle shafts from a front ZJ axle in my front XJ axle to eliminate this issue? I have a HP Dana 30 on my 98. I don't know what axle the ZJ has or is the drive shafts are swappable.
Old 03-24-2016, 09:53 AM
CF Veteran

Year: 1995

Yes, you "can" swap them in. But they are weaker. Although I don't know why you would. With proper maintenance. This whole thing is a non issue, or minimal at best.
Old 03-24-2016, 09:58 AM