Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Questions About Slip Yoke Eliminator

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2012, 01:45 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Questions About Slip Yoke Eliminator

Okay, so I am completely new to Jeeps and 4x4s in general. I'm coming from a background of motorcycles and cars. That being said, this is my first real 4x4 vehicle and I'm finding there's a lot of stuff on these things that I have no knowledge of.

I bought probably the cleanest 2000 Jeep Cherokee that anyone could buy. The car looks like it came off a show room floor, it doesn't even have as much as a single door ding or rock chip. I'm very happy with it and love the way it drives.

One of the things the previous owner did was to installed a 2.5 inch OME (Old Man Emu) suspension lift. In the process of doing this he lowered the transfer case with some blocks instead of doing a slip yoke eliminator.

I've done enough reading to know that the right way to do things when you lift it is to add a SYE. I'd like to go ahead and order a SYE and I was planning on ordering one from here... http://www.advanceadapters.com/produ...ixed-yoke-kit/

First off I have a few questions since I've never owned a vehicle with a transfer case before...

1) I'm a very mechanically inclined person. I've rebuilt tons of motors and have all the tools and space I need. So, that being said I'm wondering how long it typically takes to do a SYE and if it involves completely removing the transfer case from the vehicle or if you can do it while it's still attached to the vehicle?

2) When ordering from the link above they ask you for the 'Yoke Option' and then provide a drop down list of numerous options such as CV Yokes, non-CV Yokes, Flange Yokes, etc. I have NO idea which one of those to order, literally.