Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Brakes and 100k Tune up!

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2014, 05:55 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L V6
Default New Brakes and 100k Tune up!

Hey All -

It's that time, I've just crossed 100k on my 2001 Cherokee. I'm noticing a few issues with the Jeep and plan to take it to a local shop for some work. I have a few questions:

1) I've lifted my jeep 4.5", put new tires and wheels (33"), and replaced both front and rear bumpers. I did all the work myself, but I'm new to working on vehicles so I could have done something wrong, where would you take a jeep in the Seattle, WA area to have it checked out? Would you go to a Mopar/jeep dealership?

2) Now that I've crossed 100K, what needs to be done on my jeep? Is there a tune up/maintenance schedule for a 2001 Cherokee I can find online?

3) I'm having a lot of problems with my brakes squeaking and whatnot, if I get new brakes what should I get and how much does that cost?

4) Not sure if this is related to the brakes, but I feel it is since I only notice it when I'm slowing down/braking - but when the car comes to a slow I hear a thumb that sounds like it happens every rotation (like the brake is slipping) and it's coming from the back... I know that is very vague and there could be a lot of things that cause this - but what might it be and what should I expect a mechanic to say is the cause?

Thanks for the advice!
Old 12-21-2014, 06:27 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

Tune up: spark plugs and wires, change of fluids, air filter, adjust kickdown cable, clean throttle body.