Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need Help! Lots of broken thingsssss

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2011, 03:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4 Litre I6
Default Need Help! Lots of broken thingsssss

So murphy's law got the best of me, and within a week our mechanic has found a host of things deathly wrong with my XJ I bought last week. She's a 98 with a 7" Rusty's and 35's. Even though it was inspected before we bought it, the other mechanic must've blind, and we bought it, little did we know the true state it was in. Anywho, the mechanic gave us an estimate on how much it would cost to fix it, and I don't buy it. The prices seem unbelievably jacked up, and even though I'm new to this, I feel like I could try and learn to attempt to address some of the issues myself (I want to become a gearhead ). I thought I'd share the invoice here, and see what kind of advice/comments I can draw up. EVERYTHING is appreciated, I'm in a huge pickle, thanks!

-here's the quote from the mechanic:

"The following items are recommended to get vehicle safe to drive:
1. The brakes are bad and the car will barely stop. Found the right rear wheel cylinder blown out and brake fluid all over shoes. Recommend replacing the rear brake wheel cylinders, shoes, and drums. $465.75 plus tax. Also recommend upgrading the front brakes to heavy duty pads and rotors due to the size of the tires and the lift. Replacing front brake pads and rotors with upgraded parts will cost around $625 plus tax. The front brake parts are designed specifically for lifted vehicles with oversized wheels.