Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need Help With 96 XJ - Rugged Ridge Rear Bumper

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2015, 02:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Need Help With 96 XJ - Rugged Ridge Rear Bumper

Hello All! I have to admit I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to custom jeep stuff.

I came across this Rugged Ridge bumper at a yardsale for $20 - http://www.4wheelparts.com/Bumpers-T...FdgJgQodZgsAyw

So of course I buy it, $20 why not, its worth it for decent steel tubing to mess with worst come to worse.

Anyways, Problem is it is the Rear only, the front was not available. I want to use it as a front bumper and was wondering if a universal mounting bracket to chassis system was available or if I could even mount the stock rugged ridge stuff on the front of a jeep safely.

Bottom Line
The Bumper was originally for a CJ, I have an XJ. What mounts would I need?

Your help is appreciated

More Examples

- http://www.allthingsjeep.com/rugged-...-wrangler.html

- http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/351272373181?lpid=82&chn=ps
Old 04-26-2015, 03:34 PM
::CF Administrator::

Received 770 Likes on 524 Posts
Year: 97
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.6 stroker

You're gonna have to fab your own brackets to make it work. But I'm guessing if you had access to a welder to do this type of work, you wouldn't be asking these questions, LOL

For $20, just turn around and sell it for more money on CL. Take the money from that to put towards a bumper that was designed for your ride, or better yet, get a welder and start designing your own.

Sorry, but there's no cheap or easy solution to this that I know of other than custom made brackets...

EDIT:...why is it hotlinking the word w-elder? damned internet...

Last edited by Rogue4x4; 04-26-2015 at 03:41 PM.
Old 04-29-2015, 08:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts