Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My version of electronically controlled AW4

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2013, 06:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 93
Model: Cherokee
Default My version of electronically controlled AW4

Hey all, I don't post too often, but read most all of the posts.

I've seen some several threads on a few forums asking how to electronically control the AW4 transmission.

While there are some very cool "stick" type shifters out there, I'm one for trying to keep it simple, cheap, reliable, clean, and in some situations, reversible.

I studied numerous posts, electronic diagrams and such, and this is what I came up with. I've been running for over a year now and it's worked great so far without any issues. I can turn it on when I want it, and off when I don't. No it's not perfect, you have to remember what gear you're in and which gear you are wanting, but I tried to lay it out so it makes sense (to me anyway) about the sequence of shifting, which is up, up, down, down, meaning toggle 1 up, toggle 2 up, toggle 1 down, toggle 2 down. That's for shifting up through the gears, reverse of that for downshifting. The third toggle is torque converter lockup, and the forth toggle is a master on/off switch to activate the switches or turn them off. The master does not effect the torque converter lockup, it works no matter what the position of the master switch.