Modified XJ Cherokee Tech XJ (84-01)
All modified tech questions. If it modifies your XJ beyond stock parts ask it here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

looking to lift a stock 2001 Jeep Cherokee

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2013, 06:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default looking to lift a stock 2001 Jeep Cherokee

I've never done a lift before but I don't want to get all crazy dropping 500 or more bucks on something I won't make full use of I've been looking at budget kits on E bay and Autozone I'm looking to lift my jeep 3 inches front and rear I want a level look currently my jeep sags some in the rear but I don't really want to buy new leaf springs as of now. My plan is to install front 3 inch coil spacers and 3 inch blocks in the rear. I've been reading some things here and there but I am not impressed with the overall info I got out of it. I would like to put 31s on my jeep with stock rims. I would like to keep it as stock as possible I don't want to cut anything to make things fit and I don't want it to rub when I turn if I have to settle for 30s thats ok to. The questions I have for you guys are these.

What all should I get if I want this budget 3 inch lift to work well and not rub or have issues with fitment?
I've read about needing longer brake lines so they don't break where can I get them?
Also Shocks, where can I find 3 inch lift shocks?
Do I need an adjustable track bar with this setup?
I don't want expensive stuff I can't afford it.
My ideal setup should come in under 500 bucks even if I have to get some cheaper stuff.
Old 02-02-2013, 06:28 PM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Year: 1987
Engine: Check

You need to read alot more. If this is what you got out of your unimpressive reading, you missed ALOT.

There is a wealth of info here. And the stuff your going after is pretty simple.

Don't use blocks. They suck. You can get chevy lowering shakles for $35 and get 2-3" of lift in the rear.